top of page


Hancock’s first district champion team, the Blue Jays (as they were then known) defeated Jennings 32-13 in the semi-finals and finished off their 19-9 season by defeating their (then) arch-rival, Ferguson, 20-11 (a game in which our Jays led by the score of 5-1 at the half) to earn the Class B Championship trophy for 1930.


Team Members (in order of points scored for the season): Bill Schmidt, Harris Zimmerman, Roy Lindhurst, Milton Ing, Donald McCann, Charles Kuhn, William Wollman, Elmer VanDamme, Ewald Hartmann, Sylvester Cooper, Ervin Harris, Joe Meissert, Coach Harvey Doerr




The team (25-6), coached Arthur Langehenning, set the standing school record of 25 wins. Playing against the best teams and participating in some of the most prestigious area tournaments, the Tigers finished 1st in the Ferguson Invitational, won the consolation trophy in the Green Division of the 15th Annual Normandy Christmas Tourney, 1st in the South County League, and 2nd in the University City Sub-Regional Tournament.


Charles Buyan; Leo Opp; Don Renner; Joe Schindler; Richard Schmaltz; Joe Weltig; Ken Whitehead; Richard York; John Wilhauck; Don Zimmerman; Arthur Langehennig—Coach



The 1952 squad (24-6) won the South County League championship, plus the Bayless and Ferguson Tournaments. Larry Schaefer, Alvin Thomas, and “Big John” Cantwell helped lead the team and continued the basketball tradition established during the 1950’s. Coach Weldon Hager provided a lasting example to all his players by teaching important ideals such as hard work, sportsmanship, and fair play.


John Cantwell; Jimmy Eichhorn; Bob Heck; Buddy Hill; Jerry Lehmkuhl; Charlie Meine; Larry Schaefer; Phillip Scherr; John Sheppard; Alvin Thomas; Harold Virgen; Bob Willhauck; Coach: Weldon Hager



This team (23-7) won the South County Championship for the 3rd straight year, also repeating as champions of the Bayless and Ferguson Tournaments. Their losses included the eventual large-school state champion Cape Central. Hall of Fame member Charlie Meine and “Big” John Cantwell helped lead the team. Carlton Nebel coached this team and played a very important role in their achievements.


Roger Brodbeck; John Cantwell; Richard Jourdan; Charlie Meine; Marvin Reidel; Phil Scherr; John Sheppard; Bill Thrasher; Allen Wamser; Bob Willhauck Coach: Carlton Nebel



This team recorded the best record in school history, 22-4. The 1963 team won the District 4 title by defeating Brentwood, 7-1, Maplewood, 14-6 and Kirkwood, 2-1. Beating Roosevelt 8-2, the Tigers moved to the State quarterfinals to play University City, losing 5-0 to future major league pitcher Ken Holtzman. Four members of this team signed professional contracts: Don Baker, Don Lohse, Rich Follen and Gary Stuckenschneider.


Curt Baker; Don Baker; Gary Erxleben; Rich Follen; Jerry Frank; Don Lohse; Terry Maas; Don Regnier; John Schmidt; Don Schulz; Gary Stuckenschneider; Larry Thomas; Bob Wisdom; Dave York; John Murray – Head Coach; Richard Eichhorst – Assistant Coach



Undefeated during the regular season (10-0). The 1968 Tiger harriers also won the St. Charles Invitational and took second in the South County, Hancock and Northwest Invitationals, as well as Districts. Coached by John Borsa, this was the first team to compete in the State Cross Country Meet.


Mike Becker; Bob Chervek; Bill Danneker; Ken Eccher; Steve Eccher; Skip Heintzmann; Jerry Moser; Tom Moser; Bill Thomas; John Borsa – Coach


The first boy's basketball team to win a 3-A Regional Tournament, this team was also the first to play in the first round of the state tournament. Ranked as high 7th, the team finished with a record of 19-9. Vashon, DeSmet, Central, Ladue, St. Mary’s and Lutheran South were also ranked in the top ten during this season.

Carl Eccher; Bob Kaiser; Rex Krug; Bob Krull; Richard Pound; Rick Rayburn; Jim Senseney; Mark Sotello; David Smith; Rick Sumpter; Joe Warren; Jerry Schloss – Coach; Ed Stewart & Curt Baker – Assistant Coaches



Undefeated in dual meets, the 1978 Hancock Tigers cross country team capped offended with a 6th place finish at the state meet. Other accomplishments were 3rd place at the St. Charles Invitational, 4th at our own Hancock Invitational, 3rd at the Metro Invitational, 1st place in the Suburban East and 2nd at Districts.

Eric Deeken, Kirk Deeken, Kevin Hill, Dave Marler, Dave Miller, Ed Neff, Tom Pietz, and Ken Smith. Coach Rick Barker.



This team (18-3; 7-1) won the school’s first state team title defeating Jefferson City Helias 5-4. They defeated Borgia 3-0 in Districts, Ste. Genevieve 4-1 in Sectionals. Potosi 8-6 in the Quarterfinals, and St. Charles, 4-2 in the Semifinals. Honors: Coach Lee Warren “3-A Missouri Coach of the Year.” Mitch Fusco, All-State.

Gabe Amsinger; Ray Barnett; Chris Bower; Mike Burke; Dan Carter; Eric Cochran; Keith Cochran; Tom Dittrich; Mike Fusco; Mitch Fusco; Durwin Heater; Earl Joseph; Ron Oshia; Ed Pottgen; Dennis Ryan; Mike Ryan; Terry Simpson; Rodney Williams; Lee Warren – Head Coach; Ass’t. Coaches: Bob Keeling, Roger Brodbeck, Tim Cochran



The 2003 3-A Missouri quarterfinalists finished the year with a 24-6 record, including a 1st place finish in the South Side Classic, 2nd place in the MICDS Christmas Class, and 3rd place in the Fox Tournament. They ended their season as the 5th ranked 3-A Missouri school, 4th in the St. Louis area small schools. Joe Mathes, Tom McMahon, and Chris Pickens were named first team All-Conference and All-District. The team also qualified for an MSHAA Academic Excellence Team.

Adam Atkins, Reggie Daugherty, Cornell Elam, Chuck Hunter, Nick Hunter, Joey Mathes, Tommy McMahon, Mike Parton, Chris Pickens, Danny Suchman, Fred Weekly, Mike Wood, Coach Jeff Buscher



This record-setting Tiger team, under Mitch Fusco, ran away from the pack with a 26-4 record, culminating with a fourth-place finish at the state tournament. Their four-year record as 89-21 and their final season featured tournament wins in the Southside Classic and the JFK Christmas Tournament, a defeat of Kirkwood in the MLK Day Shootout, and defeats of Catholic powers Notre Dame, Ursuline and Villa Duchesne. On the road to the Final Four, the Tigers defeated John Burroughs at the District level, Park-Hills Central in Sectionals and Charleston in the quarterfinals.

Danica Allen, Heather Cochran, Sonya Daugherty, LaQuisa Lewis, Melanie Manker, Julie McMahon, Silvia Ochoa, Brandi Reese, Ashley Smothers, Ashley Taylor, Tammy Thomas, Coach Mitch Fusco, Assistant Coach Ben Weissflug



The record for most wins in a season set by the 03-04 squad lasted only a season as the next year’s squad, featuring most of the same players one-upped them, finishing the historic year with a 27-3 mark and the 3rd place trophy in the state tournament. Their second-place finish in the Southside Classic was avenged with the first-place plaque from the Ameritime Classic which saw the Tigers defeat Duchesne, St. Joe’s and Jefferson City. Their list of conquests that year included Cor Jesu, Notre Dame, Visitation and Cardinal Ritter. As District champions, the Tigers defeated Career Academy, then followed that up with a Sectional title defeating St. Pius. The road to state left Doniphan in their wake and they ended their season with a defeat of Springfield Catholic and a third-place finish. Their four-year record was an astounding 95-19.

Manager Ashley Alvarado, Heather Cochran, Sonya Daugherty,  Simonne Flam, Sasha King, LaQuisha Lewis, Liamesha Lewis, Tammy Thomas, Silvia Ochoa, Amanda Piva, Brandi Reese, Ashley Smothers, Ashley Taylor, Coach Mitch Fusco

bottom of page